The Democratic and Republican parties of Walker County will select delegates and alternate delegates and adopt resolutions during the respective county conventions today.

Democrats will meet at 9 a.m. at the Martin Luther King Jr. Center on MLK Drive, while the Republicans’ general meeting starts at 10:30 a.m. at the Region 6 Education Service Center at 3332 Montgomery Road.

County GOP chair Russell Martinez said committee meetings start at 9:15 a.m.

John Holcombe, county Democratic Party chair, said 170 delegates were chosen during precinct conventions March 4 to attend today’s county meeting.

Holcombe said they will select 14 delegates and 14 alternate delegates to attend the state convention set for June 6-7 in Austin.

Democrats will also pass resolutions and designate their presidential preference when they sign in — either Hillary Rodham Clinton or Barack Obama.

Martinez said the GOP will select 13 delegates and 13 alternate delegates to attend the state convention June 12-14 in Houston and pass resolutions.

In addition, Holcombe said early voting for a Democratic Party primary runoff for state Railroad Commissioner starts Monday at the Walker County Annex on Sam Houston Avenue and continues through April 4.

Early voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Mark Thompson and Dale Henry are involved in the runoff.

Holcombe said registered voters who cast ballots in the March 4 Democratic primary are eligible to vote in the runoff in addition to voters who did not vote in either of the two primaries.

The primary runoff election will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. April 8 at four locations.

Polling places are Precinct 1 — Walker County Annex, 1301 Sam Houston Avenue; Precinct 2 — First Presbyterian Church, 1801 19th St.; Precinct 3 — Martin Luther King Jr. Center, 300 Avenue F; and Precinct 4 — University Heights Baptist Church, 2400 Sycamore Ave.

Recommended for you