Diana McRae, Reed Prehoda and Bobby Warren won contested races in Tuesday’s primaries in Walker County, while Dr. Tom Cole Jr. was elected to the Huntsville City Council.

All results are unofficial until votes are canvassed by the Walker County Commissioners Court in the county election and the City Council in the special election.

With 36.72 percent of registered voters in Walker County casting ballots in the primary, Barack Obama was favored in the Democratic presidential race and John McCain in the Republican presidential race.

The Obama-Hillary Rodham Clinton race generated considerable interest in the county in addition to the contested races for Walker County offices.

Of the 28,744 registered voters for the primary election, 10,555 cast ballots, including 5,785 Democrats and 4,770 Republicans.

Precinct conventions held by both parties after the polls closed at 7 p.m. attracted a large number of attendees, especially at the Walker County Annex on Sam Houston Avenue and the Martin Luther King Center.

The Democratic precinct conventions at the annex were delayed because of the number of people who wanted to sign in and designate their presidential preference.

In the contested race for tax assessor-collector, McRae overwhelmingly defeated Lee Woodward to earn the Republican nomination.

Prehoda was re-elected as constable in Precinct 2 for a fifth straight term, defeating Braxton Morton.

McRae and Prehoda are unopposed in the November general election.

Warren defeated Jerry Ellisor to earn the Democratic Party’s nomination for Walker County Precinct 3 commissioner and the right to meet Charles W. Rushing in the November election.

Rushing was unopposed in the GOP primary.

Cole defeated incumbent Jim Willett to become the Ward 1 representative on the City Council.

Willett remains the Ward 1 representative until votes are canvassed by the City Council at noon March 14 at City Hall and Cole is administered the oath of office.

Cole defeated Willett 386 to 309, receiving 285 votes during early voting and 101 on Tuesday.

Willett received 218 votes during early voting and 91 on Tuesday, with 695 ballots cast overall compared to 495 ballots cast during early voting in the May 12, 2007, election and on Election Day.

There are 2,901 registered voters in Ward 1.

Unofficial results in contested races for county offices are:

• Tax assessor-collector — McRae, 3,100 or 68.58 percent of the votes; Woodward, 567 or 32.59 percent; early voting, McRae, 1,173; Woodward, 567.

• Precinct 2 constable — Prehoda, 1,111, 62.35 percent; Morton, 671, 37.65 percent; early voting, Prehoda, 440; Morton, 230.

• Precinct 3 commissioner (Democratic) — Warren, 775, 53.19 percent; Ellisor, 682, 46.81 percent; early voting, Warren, 265; Ellisor, 244.

Walker County candidates unopposed in the Republican primary were Clint McRae, Bobby Bates, Charles W. Rushing, John W. Hooks, Steve Hill, Gene C. Bartee and Russell Martinez.

Walker County candidates unopposed in the Democratic primary were Doyce F. Cook, B.J. Gaines Jr. and John W. Holcombe.

Walker County votes for Democratic presidential candidates — Barack Obama, 2,861; Hillary Rodham Clinton, 2,772; early voting, Obama, 1,093; Clinton, 971.

Walker County votes for Republican presidential candidates — John McCain, 2,414; Mike Huckabee, 1,790; early voting, McCain, 974; Huckabee, 593.

Recommended for you