Itemonline.com: Opinion

Opinion

rss feed

Top Story

Memories recalled and visited

The stars blinked a bit when my wife Penny, aka TeeCee, joined the heavenly host on January 15, 2016. Following my numerous physical problems, her poor system was totally overworked. Following massive medical ailments, her physical life entered a state of decline and never fully recovered.

  • icon Posted: February 10

Recent Headlines

Wednesday 02/10/2016
Time for Brady to hit the road out of Washington
Posted: February 10, 2016

Dear Editor, 

A peek into Grammar School
Posted: February 10, 2016

By Robin Williamson

Thirty years later, woman in Indiana is still 'totally confused' like a high school girl
Posted: February 10, 2016

Dear Annie: While in high school in the late 1970s, there was this guy, “Scott,” who had a crush on me. Nothing transpired back then, so fast-forward 30 years.

Tuesday 02/09/2016
Bearkats coming together to help university
Posted: February 09, 2016

From the moment that Hero and I spotted the raven-haired Bearkat beauty driving the golf cart to the splendid table decorations inside the ballroom of the Loman Student Center the evening was special.

Sunday 02/07/2016
To tape or not to tape ...
Posted: February 07, 2016

This past week we saw a bomb blow a hole through the side of a Somali airliner just above the fuel tank. That explosion killed one passenger and injured two others. The pilot heroically guided the plane to a safe landing after the blast. 

The senior defense at AOA
Posted: February 07, 2016

As the spring semester proceeds at Alpha Omega Academy, the senior class prepares for a busy time of school life. Our seniors are in what is called the rhetoric stage of classical education. In this phase, there is intense focus on what it means to persuade and defend truth in a winsome and eloquent way. 

Forget the game, let's see the ads!
Posted: February 07, 2016

Yes, they’re playing a football game this evening and it’s anticipated that close to 200 million people worldwide (slightly more than half of them here in the good old USA) will be watching on TV.

Florida mom can only wait, pray son changes his ways
Posted: February 07, 2016

Dear Annie: Twenty five years ago, my youngest son, then 18, quit the job he had had for four years. They had promised him an assistant manager job and when he turned 18, but did not follow through. 

To tape or not to tape, that’s my question
Posted: February 07, 2016

This past week we saw a bomb blow a hole through the side of a Somali airliner just above the fuel tank. That explosion killed one passenger and injured two others. The pilot heroically guided the plane to a safe landing after the blast. 

Saturday 02/06/2016
Rigged debates squeeze out long-shot candidates
Posted: February 06, 2016

By Taylor Armerding 

Three things you can do right now to start your estate plan
Posted: February 06, 2016

By Sam A. Moak

Friday 02/05/2016
Anti-Planned Parenthood witch hunt backfires
Posted: February 05, 2016

By Dave McNeely

RememberToSuggestAHed
Posted: February 05, 2016

Best Super Bowls

Risk of another fertilizer explosion remains all too real
Posted: February 05, 2016

You would think that after a massive fertilizer plant explosion leveled the city of West in 2013, Texas would take extraordinary steps to protect residents from another disaster. After all, the West Fertilizer Co. warehouse had stored an estimated 30 tons of ammonium nitrate fertilizer, and the blast was among the most destructive ever investigated by the U.S. Chemical Safety Board.

Thursday 02/04/2016
'NFL Confidential ...' hits hard, provides plenty of laughs
Posted: February 04, 2016

“NFL Confidential: True Confessions from the Gutter of Football” by Johnny Anonymous

Rubio's the one
Posted: February 04, 2016

You can pick your headline for Iowa: “Trump Didn’t Win!” “Hillary Didn’t Lose!” “Rubio’s the One!”

Isn't it strange?
Posted: February 04, 2016

There is a letter titled “Isn’t It Strange?” making the rounds in email boxes. It asks questions to which our fellow Americans should know the answers, save for those caught up in modernity.

Longtime friend feels left out of conversations
Posted: February 04, 2016

Dear Annie: I live in the same town as two friends from high school. One of these friends married right out of high school and starting having children. My other friend and I both went to college together, and then she also married and started her family. Neither of these women had a career outside the home. I, however, worked in a professional capacity until retirement, and I did not have children.

Wednesday 02/03/2016
What's the history of Black History Month?
Posted: February 03, 2016

Webster's Dictionary has a number of definitions for the word "history" that suggest the chronological record of significant events. My favorite definition simply is, "past events."

Beauty and the Beast
Posted: February 03, 2016

Calling all ladies, calling all ladies! They say, “Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.” That's the word, according to Plato. I believe it! 

Confused husband looking for answers
Posted: February 03, 2016

Dear Annie: I know I have my faults, but I can’t figure out why my wife suddenly hates me. She has said so.

Tuesday 02/02/2016
Not the typical Valentine's Day this year
Posted: February 02, 2016

I can get all teary-eyed about a Bearkat basketball game or by watching a baby on YouTube getting tickled by a playful dog. The Kats don’t have to win and the baby need never know that he is so adorable that he brings a tear.

Sunday 01/31/2016
Reader says Firearms Coalition stands atop of pro-rights groups
Posted: January 31, 2016

Dear Editor,

Disabled American Veterans (DAV) vs. Wounded Warriors Project (WWP)
Posted: January 31, 2016

Hours of web searches indicate that DAV (Disabled American Veterans) is the best place to spend your donations for veterans.

Kelli's Arena: My Facebook fiasco
Posted: January 31, 2016

Oh boy. Something that started as a lovely gesture ended up being a major embarrassment. 

Iowa: 'You gotta know the territory'
Posted: January 31, 2016

By Bob Orkand

Valentines for Vets needs help again
Posted: January 31, 2016

Dear Annie: Thank you once again for providing me the opportunity to reach out and thank our citizens for the care and support they provide to our veterans. 

Friday 01/29/2016
Trump and Cruz: Buddies no more
Posted: January 29, 2016

The best-buddy Republican presidential contenders who hugged each other in Washington last September are now trading attack ads in Iowa and New Hampshire.

Invested in the future of news media
Posted: January 29, 2016

By David Chavern

It's a mistake to balance fiance's minor pluses with his major minuses
Posted: January 29, 2016

Dear Annie: My fiance and I became engaged a year ago. He has many good qualities: He is really sweet most of the time, and he is a good provider. He takes me on nice trips and buys me lovely presents. He even rubs my feet and cooks for me.

Thursday 01/28/2016
Education insanity
Posted: January 28, 2016

Some credit Albert Einstein, others credit Benjamin Franklin, with the observation that "the definition of insanity is doing the same thing year after year and expecting different results." Whomever we credit, he was absolutely right. A perfect example of that insanity is education in general and particularly black education.

Take the movement to the White House
Posted: January 28, 2016

At a recent dinner with my work team, I was reminded that I had said I wanted to travel less for work this year so I could focus on other projects. Instead, I find myself bouncing across the country campaigning for my friend who decided to run for president.

It's not too late for wife to seek counseling and check out choices
Posted: January 28, 2016

Dear Annie: When I met my husband many years ago, he had just returned from Vietnam. His mind was shaky, and he was a chain smoker and a serious alcoholic. 

Wednesday 01/27/2016
Why Clinton should not be in the White House -- Bill, that is
Posted: January 27, 2016

Hillary Clinton has a better than even chance of being elected president in 2016. She brings with her some baggage. No, it’s not just Benghazi or an insecure computer. It’s her husband Bill. 

Mort muddles in merry mix-up . . .
Posted: January 27, 2016

Uncle Mort, staring down the barrel at his 104th birthday on July 4, lives in utter fascination of the moment —whatever he’s doing, wherever he is. Aunt Maude says he can entertain himself for a good four hours in an empty room with a fly swatter. “Add a fly to the mix, and his day is made,” she laughs.

Tuesday 01/26/2016
Subtle, yet polite way to say lose some weight
Posted: January 26, 2016

Just sitting here and it pops right up in my face. Uninvited, the popup bellows, “Chip away at your belly one day at a time.”

Sunday 01/24/2016
Headline irks Item reader; 'them vs. us thinking' bothers him more
Posted: January 24, 2016

I'm writing today in reference to the January 15, 2016, article, "Revenant leads Oscars noms with 12, only white actors again."

Estate planning for parents of drug-addicted children
Posted: January 24, 2016

The information in this column is not intended as legal advice but to provide a general understanding of the law. Any readers with a legal problem, including those whose questions are addressed here, should consult an attorney for advice on their particular circumstances.

Super Bowl at 50: Pop Quiz Time
Posted: January 24, 2016

When the dust settles tonight, we’ll know the identities of the two remaining contenders for the biggest prize of all in this year’s most important competition.

Next time, we'll think before we judge
Posted: January 24, 2016

There is a young man in his 30s who frequently walks his dogs down my block. He saunters around with a pipe in his mouth, never says hello, and on occasion allows his dogs to do their business on my front lawn. 

City Council takes steps in forward direction
Posted: January 24, 2016

The temperament at last week's City Council meeting in Huntsville was encouraging. Council members got some good work done. They finalized a wayfinding signs project that has been in the works for a year or more, they settled on the makeup of the city's finance committee and they kept low the contention level.

Couple needs to approach conception challenges together
Posted: January 24, 2016

Dear Annie: My husband and I have been trying to conceive for three years, with no luck. I’ve tried almost everything there is over the counter, and I can’t seem to bring myself to see a doctor. I’m afraid he’ll tell me there is something wrong with one of us and we’ll resent each other.

Friday 01/22/2016
Are our state, national leaders truly Christian?
Posted: January 22, 2016

After February, when Iowa, New Hampshire, South Carolina and Nevada vote on presidential nominees, it's our turn.

Thursday 01/21/2016
Sanders' single-payer plan is a distraction
Posted: January 21, 2016

If you've successfully landed on the beaches, but your forces are still taking heavy fire, what do you do? Do you concentrate on trying to hold the line and make further advances or do you sit in a circle and design a better landing craft?

Blacks and the Confederacy
Posted: January 21, 2016

By Walter Williams

Tell chatty 'Caroline' you need quiet time
Posted: January 21, 2016

Dear Annie: I am a healthy, active, 68-year-old divorced man, still employed and productive. About a year ago, I met “Caroline,” a pleasant, generous, compatible woman, and have since enjoyed her company on a regular basis. We spent Christmas together in Europe. It was lovely.

Wednesday 01/20/2016
Once an adult, twice a child ...
Posted: January 20, 2016

Rationalization seems to be a place of constant retreat, where they know me by my first name. Writers and speakers often believe their comments to be fresh — perhaps never before read or heard — and certainly not to be categorized as being “corny.”

Tuesday 01/19/2016
Number Two making his parents proud
Posted: January 19, 2016

By Lyndol Wilkinson

Here's a better way to look at one-sided gift-giving, and an idea for the future
Posted: January 19, 2016

Dear Annie: My half-brother and his wife are old enough to be my parents. He is quite well-to-do and so are his children. I am only six years older than his oldest child and have always felt more like one of his kids than his sister, especially after my parents died.

 

coupons
ADVERTISERS

Twitter